River Club Golf Reviews

The Myrtle Beach Golf Insider is a golf course review site developed for golfers, by golfers. River Club is one of the area's most renounded courses as you can see from these recent reviews by other fellow golfers.

OVERALL SCORE: 8.5 [8.5]

  • Tees:
    8 [8]
  • Greens:
    8 [8]
  • Fairways:
    8 [8]
  • Proshop:
    9 [9]
  • Grill:
    8 [8]
  • Staff:
    9 [9]
Based on 1162 reviews »

Latest Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Duane Ratcliffe on 12/05/2018:
" Golf Course year around is always in great shape. Great Staff that want to help their guests have an enjoyable time. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Ray M on 11/20/2018:
" One of my favorites to play, great layout.Even though the area had received rain over the past week or so we were able to drive on most of the fairways. Staff members very pleasant and accommodating. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [9]
Charles Garneau on 11/04/2018:
" Very nice and great staff!! We had a great time. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Charles Garneau on 11/04/2018:
" Realy... Realy... Nice course... Will Play IT again . "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Dave Murtaugh on 10/13/2018:
" Been coming to The Grand Strand for 13+ years for an annual buddies golf trip, and we enjoyed The River Club. The course is in very good condition, and the layout really stands out among other courses in the area. The course is challenging, but very fair, and we had a lot of fun! You'll use close to every club in your bag. There is no driving range, so hitting into a net was a disappointing warm up. The staff were kind, but it seemed like they needed a few more people for a very busy day. We still find the tee times too close together, which leads to a lot of waiting, but we played in the busy season, so we were disappointed but not surprised. Even with all that, we said this one goes on the "play it again list" and recommend that you give it try. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [8]
Melanie Clements on 09/07/2018:
" Course is in great shape. Has lots of character. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Melanie C on 09/07/2018:
" Course is in great shape. Has lots of character. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Will M on 08/04/2018:
" One of the most beautiful golf courses I've ever played. Highly recommended! "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Paul M on 07/14/2018:
" Good course good condition "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [8]
Bob B on 07/14/2018:
" One of my favorites to play. Very challenging to play. Lots of sand and water. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [9]
Mark S on 07/10/2018:
" Course is in great shape, will be playing here again. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Shane C on 06/20/2018:
" Great course "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Pat M on 05/30/2018:
" This is a beautiful golf course! "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Hans G on 05/11/2018:
" Always great to play here. Super friendly staff. Course in great shape. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Bruce M on 04/21/2018:
" Played two days. All in all after a long winter and no spring...outstanding "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Jerry on 02/25/2018:
" For February, course condition was excellent. Staff was very helpful, I felt welcomed at the course. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [7]
Kevin B on 02/10/2018:
" The course was in great shape and we enjoyed our play there. The staff was friendly and helpful. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Tom on 01/16/2018:
" Local play it often one of the nicest well maintained golf courses down here perfect from the tees to fairways to green make a tee time and play it. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Tom B on 01/12/2018:
" Local play it often one of the nicest well maintained golf courses down here perfect from the tees to fairways to green make a tee time and play it. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Danny B on 01/11/2018:
" Course is in great shape and would play there again "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
David on 12/15/2017:
" River Club is a Tom Jackson creation that has been delighting and frustrating golfers in the Myrtle Beach area since it opened in 1985. Over the years, it has received numerous accolades, including 4.5 Stars from Golf Digests Places to Play, and having two holes named to the Myrtle Beach Sun News 100 Greatest Golf Holes Along the Grand Strand; the 14th and 18th. More on those two holes later. River Club is located in Pawleys Island, about 20 miles south of Myrtle Beach and exemplifies everything Lowcountry golf is about. Built on the site of a former rice plantation, golfers will encounter pristine wetlands, maritime forests, Spanish moss-draped trees, abundant wildlife, over 100 sand traps and bunkers and lots of water, both natural and manmade. In fact, water comes into play on at least 14 holes. While the course is aesthetically pleasing, it can present a challenge to just about any caliber of golfer. From the Black Tees, River Club plays 6,677 yards with a course rating of 72.3 and a slope of 134. The White Tees (6,240/70.2/127) provide a great challenge with some allowance to exit the facility with a little bit of dignity. Seniors can choose to play from the Gold Tees (5,807/68.4/120) and Ladies will be tested from the Red Tees (5,084/68.8/122). Pick the tees that best suit your game and youre likely to really enjoy yourself. My Favorite: Number 6, Par 5, 477 yards. If you can reach the dogleg off the tee on this par 5 hole, youll set up yet another risk/reward opportunity. It will require a drive of at least 255 yards from the White Tees and set up a manageable 223-yard approach over water to a slightly elevated green. Should you choose the three-shot route, beware of the fairway bunkers that dot the left side of the fairway and protect the back of the green. Members Favorite: Number 14, Par 3, 149 yards (White Tees). Im not surprised the members chose a par 3 as their favorite hole, for some reason a lot of golfers seem to think that par 3 holes are the easiest holes on the course. Number 14 is anything but; it features an island green fronted by four sand traps that catch anything hit short. The green holds the ball quite well, although a back-left pin position can prove to be very trying. Theres no way to get on the green without hitting over the water at some point. Number 14 will test both accuracy and distance control. Par is a good score here. Staffs Favorite: Number 18, Par 5, 493 yards (White Tees). As I mentioned earlier 18th hole was one of two holes named as one of the Grand Strands 100 most memorable holes by the Sun News. I spoke with several members of the staff who all gave number 18 the nod as their favorite hole, now I understand why. Its a par 5 that plays 493 yards from the White Tees and is considered one of the harder holes on the inward nine. My guess is that the water that makes up the entire left side of the fairway has something to do with that. If you can manage to find the thin peninsula of fairway that sticks out just past the fairway bunker, youll leave yourself a little over 200 yards to the green; a manageable distance, or at least worth the effort. The way the hole is shaped and the green is set up, youre most likely going to have to go over the water at some point or another, so its well worth the risk. Find the trap off the tee, and your chances of getting on in two diminish greatly, as I found out. The green is set at an odd angle and, if youre playing Number 18 as a three-shot hole, its much wider than it is deep. In any event, par is always a good way to end the round. Last Word: Because land is at a premium in this area, there is no formal driving range; pre-round warmup is limited to hitting into nets. However, there is a very large chipping and practice putting green, so no driving range is not a valid excuse for a bad first couple of holes. The majority of golf holes out here have ample room off the tee, giving you the opportunity to keep it in the fairway. River Club is more about second shots, whether its sticking it close to the pin on some of the shorter par 4s or setting up your approach shot on the par 5s. What you see is what you get; there are no hidden surprises such as water hazards, pot bunkers or unexpected rough in an otherwise inviting landing area. Execute your second shot on each hole and youll be well rewarded. The greens are receptive and conducive to making putts, but you have to put the ball in the right spot. With water infringing on so many holes, accuracy and proper club selection is essential to shooting a favorable score as is the ability to hit a variety of shots. If thats not enough, theres more than 100 traps to contend with. As a matter of fact, if you can make your way around River Club with the ball you started with and never having to hit out of the sand, youve accomplished something hopefully a low score. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Stacy on 10/28/2017:
" River Club is one of my favorite golf courses in or around Myrtle Beach. Serene, always in terrific shape, a tester yet not overly complicated...simply a joy to play! "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
James P on 10/24/2017:
" Course is looking and playing great! "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Craig C on 10/08/2017:
" Awesome low country golf course, holes are framed beautifully "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Randy on 10/04/2017:
" Always enjoy playing River Club, great conditions and customer service keeps us coming back "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Brian on 06/23/2017:
" Great layout, course and greens were in excellent shape. Pace of play was very good. Staff was courteous and efficient. Overall, great experience. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Ted on 02/20/2017:
" Course is in excellent shape. Greens were a little shaggy but rolled nice. The staff at this facility is some of the nicest on The Grand Strand. One of the best tracks on the beach. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Timothy on 01/26/2017:
" A great layout and wonderful staff. We were able to run the fairways after some very heavy rains two days earlier. Greens aren't exceptionally fast but in good shape. The staff running the place is the best in area, friendly and helpful. The only downside was putting on wet greens, they hadn't whipped the greens on the back side and that is where we started. I find this quit unusual and most likely an oversight with the greens keepers attending to the front nine. Still an overall great day, we will return. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [9]
Paul (uk) on 09/02/2016:
" Not the most difficult course we played on this trip. However, there is a great variety of holes in very scenic surroundings so well worth playing. Also, the course was in very good condition and the staff extremely friendly and accommodating. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [9]
Ted on 08/19/2016:
" Course is in outstanding shape from Tees to Green. Greens putted true & rather quick. Staff is very accommodating. Pace of play was 4hrs. The 18th hole is great finishing hole. Highly recommend playing here "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Cassidy on 07/08/2016:
" All the staff were friendly. Snack bar had the typical food you can get at a golf course. Course is in very nice shape. Some damp spots but not bad seeing as rain the past two nights. Greens roll true and at a good speed for the average golfer. Have a nice practice area for chipping and putting, but no range for longer clubs. Will play again if we stay in the area. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Mike (Oneida,NY) on 03/09/2016:
" Course in good condition. Painted greens seemed to affect the putting a bit. Other golfers ahead of us weren't raking traps. Very frustrating landing in someone's footprint or divot. Enjoy the layout and people who work here, one of our go to courses. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [9]
Timothy on 02/18/2016:
" Great course with friendly staff. Just a couple of greens were not in good shape but most were very playable. Cart path only on a couple of holes which was surprising because we've had lots of heavy rain lately. It's a must play course for visitors. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [9]
Tony on 10/27/2015:
" Tees, fairways, and greens all in great condition. Greens rolled true and fast. Generous landing areas off the tee if you don't get too aggresive. Lots of big bunkers in the landing areas and around the greens. Bunkers had good sand and were well maintained. Bag drop, Pro shop, and Starter were all so nice to us. Got out about 30 minutes ahead of our tee time, and played in 4 hours. Awesome day. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [9]
Pete on 07/08/2015:
" The price was right for an afternoon round. The course was beat up from a bad winter and a lot of play. All around a good day on the course. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [6]
JJ on 03/31/2015:
" The course was in excellent condition, despite the recent wet weather. This was the only course during our recent trip that allowed carts. The staff was very friendly and helpful. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Alan (Scarborough, ON) on 11/03/2014:
" Very good. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [8]
Phil (Fayetteville, WV) on 10/10/2014:
" Very good. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [8]
Cynthia (Union, NJ) on 10/01/2014:
" The course was too wet possible bad drainage. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [6]
Henry (Matthews, NC) on 09/25/2014:
" One of my favorite courses. Carts on paths due to large amount of rain the night before. Starter went out of his way to let my cart on fairways on back nine due to my recent knee replacement. Staff very friendly and helpful. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [9]
Barry on 09/23/2014:
" Starter allowed me to go off back 9 as a single. Finished in under 4 hours. Course was in great condition; a few wet spots due to recent rains. Greens were fast but consistent. Great time! "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Ann Mary (Lasalle, QC) on 06/02/2014:
" Nice.course, pretty and well maintained. Friendly staff "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [8]
William (Smithfield, PA) on 04/17/2014:
" N/A "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [4]
Brian (Beckley, WV) on 04/17/2014:
" Fantastic "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [9]
Phil on 12/02/2013:
" Very nice golf course. This is a dependable golf facility that will garantee a good time. It is an enjoyable layout. The condition is normally good to excellant. We played in less than 4 and 1/2 hours on a day when the weather was great for golf. The staff is very friendly and is trained well to help your visit here. They've added an on course GPS system that was helpful with yardages. As long as you remembered to push the screen to advance to the next hole, the system remained current with your location on the golf course. I've played here before and will play here again. Good layout for the advanced to the beginner golfer as well........try it, you'll like it..! "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Gail (Gibsonia, PA) on 11/07/2013:
" Nice course -- please add more women's clothing to your pro shop "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [7]
Lynn (Lutherville Timonium, MD) on 10/25/2013:
" Great "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [9]
John (Augusta, GA) on 10/24/2013:
" Fantastic "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Sean (Augusta, GA) on 10/22/2013:
" Greens were immaculate. Rolled true with no bouncing. 24 of the 27 holes have water so be ready for it. They have GPS which helped a bunch. We even saw a 4 ft baby alligator spectator. It was a tough but fun round. I definitely would play it again. "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [10]
Frank (Naugatuck, CT) on 10/18/2013:
" Great "
OVERALL SCORE: avground [9]
See All 1162 reviews »